Home > Uncategorized > May There Be Rest And Peace …

May There Be Rest And Peace …

As many of you may know, my father Larry Davis, passed away Monday morning July 2, 2012. He moves on to a place free from the pain and sorrow of this world, finally.

For those of you who don’t know it was 6 years ago this week that dad had his first surgery, and not for the cancer we have all bonded through these last days. The doctors did not know he had an abdominal strand of Mesothelioma cancer. That first week was unlike any pain he’d ever experienced.

One year ago, in 2011, after he and I competed in a Father’s Day triathlon together, he went in for another surgery to remove the large tumors that had been growing for years. That surgery was not as successful as I, and maybe some others, would’ve liked. In August of 2011, one tumor or a series of tumors I do not know, grew so large  that they blocked his bowel. My father was no longer able to eat.

In June of 2012 I got a call and was told he wouldn’t make it until Father’s Day, so I should come quickly. I did. All the while, his wife, never not by his side, tended to him.

This last month was unlike anything I’ve ever seen. As my father deteriorated I cried when no one could see for him and for this disease that was taking him from me. Something that could be prevented. Something that the US Congress could put a stop to going forward. There needs to be a complete ban on asbestos use all over the world, not just here in America.

And more importantly, there needs to be a cure so that all the of the people stricken with Mesothelioma now can find help before for it’s too late. It’s to late for my dad. But he worked his ass off to help support the movement. I hope you will join me and my family as we accept donations in my father’s honor to the Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation’s Larry Davis Mesothelioma Immunotherapy Research Grant. Your contributions will be matched dollar-for-dollar.

Also, his friends in Florida have set up another fund called the Larry Davis Scholarship. Please read more in my earlier post about how you can help fund a local FL high school graduate who loves to run, like my dad. For those of you interested in donating to this scholarship please go to either runningexpo.com  or active.com.

I know you all feel the loss I do. And it is with heartfelt thanks to everyone for loving my father.

Sincerely, Courtney Ann Davis

Other tributes:

Asbestos.com    SokoloveLaw   Meso Foundation  ADAO

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Karen Loos Acampora
    July 3, 2012 at 12:29 PM

    I am deeply saddened to hear of your fathers passing. Larry was always a true gentleman and fought so hard for the cause. My condolences to you and your family. Larry will be missed by so many, but he will not be forgotten. We must all carry on the fight to ban asbestos around the world and to find a cure. May you and your family find some peace in knowing that he is in a better place now and without any pain. God be with you all at this difficult time.
    Karen Loos Acampora

  2. July 3, 2012 at 2:34 PM

    Our Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO) family sends our deep condolences to you and your entire family. Your dad made a huge difference in the lives of so many. Candles will be lit around the world in honor of your dad, his fight to ban asbestos, and find a cure. Love, Linda http://bit.ly/R2H0LX

  3. Jennifer
    July 3, 2012 at 2:37 PM

    Courtney, I am so sorry for your family’s loss. My heart breaks for you. I too am a daughter of a dad with Meso. My dad was also a runner as is my sister. It’s hard to see that he can’t run anymore but my dad still fights on. Thank you for all that your dad did to advocate for this terrible disease. I pray that all those working diligently for a cure will find it soon. Hugs to you and your family and my prayers are with you.

  4. Kristina
    July 4, 2012 at 3:36 PM

    Courtney,

    I’m sorry I never got to meet your Dad, but I know he lives on through you. And I am grateful for being lucky enough to have met you. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do for you or your family.

    Much love,
    Kristina A

  5. Barry Glading
    July 4, 2012 at 7:41 PM

    RIP, Larry. A brave man and a true good bloke.

  6. David Denton Davis MD
    July 5, 2012 at 3:38 PM

    Cour, it was a long and courageous battle which is not over. Larry has helped to create a new generation of warriors against asbestos. Indelible best describes his efforts on behalf of others. The product as well as the word much be eradicated from our vocabulary. We are all very proud of your dad.
    Your Uncle\
    David

  7. July 6, 2012 at 11:31 AM

    Courtney – I am so sorry for your loss. My father lost his battle with pleural mesothelioma 8 years ago on July 3, 2004. It was the Friday of Father’s Day weekend when he was told there was nothing more that could be done. He always, always held great hope that he would come through. We can only keep that hope alive with the foundations and memorial funds that we have established in their honor and memory. That is their legacy. In their name, we will fund, fight for and find a cure for mesothelioma. I wish you and your family much peace during this very difficult time. Debbie

  1. July 5, 2012 at 9:22 PM
  2. July 9, 2012 at 5:40 PM

Leave a Reply

