Home > Uncategorized > A Family Affair

A Family Affair

You know how it is … you get busy, you lose track of time, and before you know it you haven’t seen certain members of your family for years. That’s how it is for me. I haven’t seen my father’s sister and husband, my Aunt Marilyn and Uncle Paul, since my dad’s surgery. They flew to Florida when he was critically ill and we spent time together. Then they flew to Newport, RI, a special family Independence holiday location, where we watched my dad try to balance life before Mesothelioma and life going forward with the disease. It has probably been at least that long since I’ve seen my father’s brother and his wife, my Uncle David and Aunt Cynnea.

When I was younger I spent every other Christmas with my dad, Aunt Marilyn and family. During the summers there was a stretch of a few years where I visited my dad’s brother and his wife. They moved to Florida for a few years and I was able to visit them while visiting my dad. Then they moved away. Both sets of siblings now live west of the Mississippi. With busy schedules, limited funds and growing families, seeing each other isn’t as easy as it once was.

But in a few weeks I am going to see everyone again. The one person who makes us all family, my dad, is still alive years after being diagnosed with Mesothelioma and he is bringing us all together.

We will meet in Florida for the 2nd annual South Florida Miles for Meso race and event weekend. All of us are flying in from our respective home states to converge on Boca Raton for an event my father brought to the area 1 year ago. I am very much looking forward to seeing my family. They have all been huge supporters of my father all of his life. He’s the youngest, the little brother, if you didn’t already know. They’ve always looked out for him, and me. And they will be there to support him as he continues to raise funds for research through the Miles for Meso program.

I fly in on Friday the 11th. That night there is a Welcome Party at The Wishing Well Pub in Boca. The following day there will be a reception, the Saturday Night Celebration of Life, at which my Uncle David will present after the keynote speaker, Dr. Richard Alexander, my father’s physician and Mesothelioma researcher. The main event will be Sunday’s race at Spanish River Park just off A1A in beautiful Boca Raton. The whole family will be there. I wouldn’t miss it. And we sincerely hope you will join us for the festive occasion.                                                 ~Courtney Davis

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

